New Cangle Community Primary School

Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Meet our governors: 

Georgina Ager John Pearson Todd Capon Ann Kennedy O'Brien
Chair of Governors
Co-opted Governor Parent Governor Parent Governor Parent Governor


Sarah Pector Jacqueline Brading Bob Greatrex
Staff Governor Headteacher

Local Authority




When do the Governing Board meet?

New Cangle Full Governing Board meets 6 times a year. As a small governing board, the school does not have sub committees which meet regularly.

Who are School Governors?

Legally-appointed volunteer advisors, helping schools be the best they can be. Governors work alongside staff as a joint team, rather like directors of a business and trustees of a charity.

What sort of people are governors?

  • Parents or carers of pupils
  • A teacher or a member of the non-teaching staff
  • People interested in our school who live or work in the local community
  • People already known to the Education Authority, such as councillors or experienced governors
  • People connected with other local schools, especially linked or partnership schools

All governors must be able to pass a Disclosure and Barring Service check

What sort of things do Governors do?

  • Decide what really matters to our school and what is the right thing to do (values and ethos)
  • Decide where we are going and how we will get there (current and future developments)
  • Encourage the staff and pupils to do their best
  • Ask questions and look at things (check things are being done as wanted)
  • Check the finances are correctly managed
  • Check the law regarding education is being followed

How do you contact a school governor?

Please contact you would like to contact an individual governor, the school office can also put you in contact. 

Are you interested in being a governor?

This might sound like a big job – especially as it is not paid -  but it is really just common sense, and very interesting. Training is also provided.  Please contact Georgina Ager, Chair of Governors,  through the School Office for a chat or email: